Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## 維柴動力股份有限公司 WEICHAI POWER CO., LTD.

(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 2338)

## ANNOUNCEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 13.09(1) OF THE LISTING RULES CLARIFICATION ANNOUNCEMENT RESUMPTION OF TRADING

This announcement is intended to clarify certain information contained in an article appearing in 長江商報 (Changjiang Times) concerning the Company.

The board of directors (the "Board") of Weichai Power Co., Ltd. (the "Company") has noted an article (the "Article") in 長江商報 (Changjiang Times) on 15 August 2009 indicating that there was a rumour suggesting that the earnings per share of the Company for the six months ended 30 June 2009 was RMB1.75 and that the Company would make a bonus shares issue on the basis of 10 bonus shares for every 10 existing shares held by the Company's shareholders.

The Board would like to confirm that it is not aware of the source of the above mentioned information and that all such information was incorrect. For further details, please refer to the overseas regulatory announcement of the Company dated 18 August 2009.

Trading in the H shares of the Company ("H Shares") was suspended at 11:43 a.m. on 17 August 2009 pending the release of this announcement. Trading in the H Shares will resume at 9:30 a.m. on 19 August 2009.

This announcement is made by the order of the Board, of which the directors individually and jointly accept responsibility for the accuracy of the information contained in this announcement.

By order of the Board of Directors
Weichai Power Co., Ltd.
Cheung Tat Leung, Peter
Company Secretary

## Hong Kong, 18 August 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Tan Xuguang, Mr. Xu Xinyu, Mr. Sun Shaojun and Mr. Zhang Quan; the non-executive Directors of the Company are Ms. Zhang Fusheng, Mr. Liu Huisheng, Mr. Yao Yu, Mr. Yeung Sai Hong, Mr. Chen Xuejian, Mr. Li San Yim, Mr. Julius G. Kiss, Ms. Han Xiaoqun, Mr. Gu Linsheng, Mr. Li Shihao and Mr. Liu Zheng; and the independent non-executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Zhang Xiaoyu, Mr. Koo Fook Sun, Louis and Mr. Fang Zhong Chang.