The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



WEICHAI

濰 柴 動 力 股 份 有 限 公 司

WEICHAI POWER CO., LTD.

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 2338)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

IN RELATION TO MAJOR TRANSACTION INVOLVING THE ACQUISITIONS OF FURTHER EQUITY INTERESTS IN WEICHAI POWER (WEIFANG) INVESTMENT CO., LTD.

The Board announces that as additional time is required to finalize the Circular, the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with the requirements under Rule 14.38 of the Listing Rules with respect to the time period within which the Circular needs to be dispatched, and an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to the Shareholders to on or before 16th June, 2006 has been granted by the Stock Exchange.

Reference is made to the announcement of the Company dated 12th May, 2006 (the "Announcement") in relation to the Acquisitions. Terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement, unless otherwise stated.

Pursuant to Rule 14.38 of the Listing Rules, the Company is required to despatch a circular (the "**Circular**") in relation to the Acquisitions within 21 days after the publication of the Announcement, that is, on or before 5th June, 2006. As additional time is required by the Company to finalize the Circular, the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for a waiver from strict compliance with the requirements under Rule 14.38 of the Listing Rules with respect to the time period within which the Circular needs to be dispatched, and an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to the Shareholders to on or before 16th June, 2006 has been granted by the Stock Exchange.

By order of the Board Tan Xuguang Chairman and CEO

Hong Kong, 5th June, 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Company are Mr. Tan Xuguang, Mr. Xu Xinyu, Mr. Sun Shaojun and Mr. Zhang Quan; the non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Yeung Sai Hong, Mr. Yao Yu, Mr. Li San Yim, Mr. Tong Jingen, Ms. Zhang Fusheng, Mr. Julius G. Kiss and Ms. Han Xiaoqun and Mr. Chen Xue Jian; and the independent non-executive directors of the Company are Mr. Zhang Xiaoyu, Mr. Koo Fook Sun, Louis and Mr. Fang Zhong Chang.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in The Standard.