The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



無 果 勤 力 放 切 有 限 公 可 WEICHAI POWER CO., LTD.

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 2338)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR IN RELATION TO THE REVISED CAPS FOR EXISTING CONTINUING CONNECTED TRANSACTIONS

The Board wishes to announce that the despatch of the Circular to the Shareholders will be postponed from 6 October 2004 to not later than 27 October 2004. The Circular will contain information on, inter alia, the revised caps for the existing Continuing Connected Transactions.

Reference is made to the announcement of the Company released on 15 September 2004 in relation to, inter alia, the revised caps for the existing Continuing Connected Transactions (the "Announcement"). Unless otherwise defined, terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement.

According to Rule 14A.49 of the Listing Rules, a circular (the "Circular") containing information in relation to, inter alia, the revised caps for the existing Continuing Connected Transactions is required to be despatched to the Shareholders within 21 days following the publication of the Announcement.

As more time is required to compile the information to be contained in the Circular, an application has been made to the Stock Exchange for, and the Stock Exchange has granted, an extension of time for the despatch of the Circular to not later than 27 October 2004.

By Order of the Board **Tan Xuguang**Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Hong Kong, 6 October 2004

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises the executive Directors: Mr. Tan Xuguang (Chairman and CEO), Mr. Xu Xinyu, Mr. Sun Shaojun and Mr. Zhang Quan; the non-executive Directors: Ms. Zhang Fusheng, Mr. Chen Xuejian, Mr. Tong Jingen, Mr. Yeung Sai Hong, Mr. Li San Yim, Mr. Yao Yu, Mr. Julius G. Kiss and Mr. Feng Gang; and the independent non-executive Directors: Mr. Zhang Xiaoyu and Mr. Koo Fook Sun, Louis.

Please also refer to the published version of this announcement in the (The Standard)